Process

A Quest for the Quiet Mind: Can the Art World Make Room for Sincerity?

By |03.09.14|

In 2013 the online magazine 2Paragraphs asked a group of visual artists to write about the image that had “affected them most profoundly.” The question elicited some fascinating stories, from Goya’s influence on video and conceptual artist Karen Ostrom, to […]

If Other Professions Were Paid Like Artists

By |02.19.14|

 
Everything is Free Now
This week a visual artist friend posted the following on her Facebook page:

“Just for the fun of it, I counted up how many times in 2014 I’ve been asked to do work for free, but […]

The Perils of Being a Solo Artist: 11 Ways to Find the Support You Need

By |02.05.14|

 

 

I have a confession to make…Asking for help is tough for me. Ditto for collaborating.

Yes. I love people. I love being a connector and introducing creative folks to one another. I love great conversation about art and ideas. But when it […]

Setting Creative Goals for the New Year? Let Fear Be Your Guide

By |01.05.14|

 
Resolutions
It’s the New Year, which means that many of us are taking stock of our personal habits, both good and bad, and resolving to do better.

But how many things on this year’s list of goals also appeared on our list […]

Patti Smith’s Advice to Artists: We’re Pioneers in a New Time

By |11.13.13|

 

“In art and dream may you proceed with abandon. In life may you proceed with balance and stealth.”

These are the words of rock legend and National-Book-Award winner Patti Smith.  The advice is reminiscent Madame Bovary author Gustave Flaubert: “Be steady and […]

How To Be An Artist

By |10.08.13|

 
If there is one piece of advice I could give to artists of all disciplines, in all stages of their careers, it would be this: make art. Period.

Writer and art critic Sigrun Hodne posted this simple, but brilliant drawing on […]

Daily Rituals: How Artists Create (And Avoid Creating) Their Art

By |09.25.13|

 

One Sunday in 2007 Mason Currey was sitting alone in the office of his employer—an architecture magazine—trying (and failing) to finish an article that was due the next day. Instead of getting down to business, he compulsively tidied his cubicle, […]

Architect Says: Less Is More. Less Is a Bore.

By |06.05.13|

 

 

Philadelphia is a city awash with memorable architecture, so it’s fitting that I stumbled across The Architect Says: Quotes, Quips, and Words of Wisdom at the Philadelphia Museum of Art’s store, which offers a well-curated assortment of books inside of Horace Trumbauer’s […]

Comments Off on Architect Says: Less Is More. Less Is a Bore.

Franz Kafka : Don’t Water It Down

By |04.17.13|

 

 

“Don’t bend; water it down; or make it logical; don’t edit your soul for fashion. Follow intense obsessions mercilessly.”

Spot-on advice for all artists from the writer Franz Kafka.

 

 

John Cage on Beginning

By |03.05.13|

 

 

Last night I came across this quote  in my friend’s office in Philadelphia. Creating art that resonates or impacting the world around you isn’t the result of ambitious ideas or flawless execution. It’s the result of doing.

Start. Now.

You can explore […]

Ai Weiwei’s Little Black Book

By |02.06.13|

 

 

I didn’t expect a publication that has been touted as one of the “Best Art Books of 2012” to stand just six inches tall and contain only two photographs. But as Chinese artist Ai Weiwei’s new book Weiwei-isms proves, small can […]

The Complete Creative Part 4 : Christian McEwen on the Art of Happiness

By |12.18.12|

 

 

The holidays have their bright spots: the homemade bourbon balls, the annual viewing of Charlie Brown and the Grinch, the twinkling lights, spending quality time with family and friends, the Messiah performances and sing-a-longs.

But for most of us, the holidays also mean […]

Gwarlingo “Sells Out”…To You

By |12.05.12|

 

 

You’re curious. Open-minded. Creative. You’re an artist or arts lover who isn’t afraid to be challenged.

Gwarlingo, like the arts in general, is about seeing the world in a way we’ve never seen before. Whether it’s through poetry, film, visual art, […]

Chuck Close, Alice Munro, & Jack White on Creativity & Constraint

By |11.01.12|

 
The Challenges of Motherhood
Alice Ann Laidlaw was born in the rural town of Wingham, Ontario, the daughter of a fox and mink farmer and a schoolteacher. While writing fiction and studying English at the University of Western Ontario she worked as […]

Writer Christian McEwen on Creativity and Slowing Down

By |09.26.12|

 

Every day we’re faced with the decision of how and where to focus our attention. Sustained attention may be the most endangered resource in our modern age. We often forget that we have a choice about how we […]

The Complete Creative Part 1 : How “If-Only Syndrome” Derails Us As Artists

By |09.12.12|

 

 

When Gwarlingo readers give me feedback, I listen. You’ve been telling me that you’d like to see more articles about process and the challenges of being an artist. I’ve appreciated your emails and comments.

Today, I’m excited to launch a new […]

An Exclusive Peek Inside Keith Haring’s New York City Studio

By |09.05.12|

 

 

On a recent trip to New York City, I had a chance to visit the studio of the late Keith Haring. The fifth-floor space, located on Broadway between Bleeker and Great Jones Street, is now home to the […]

Comments Off on An Exclusive Peek Inside Keith Haring’s New York City Studio

Being André Gregory : Before and After Dinner

By |08.08.12|

 

 

We gathered around André Gregory like children eagerly assembling around the librarian for story hour. André perched in a picture window inside Winsome Brown and Claude Arpels’ fashionable Tribeca apartment. Behind him, the sun was setting over the Hudson River. On the […]

Amy Hempel & Matthew Zapruder : Lessons from the Writing Life

By |08.03.12|

 

A few weeks ago I had a chance to meet writers Matthew Zapruder and Amy Hempel for the first time. The event was part of a reading series at the Juniper Summer Writing Institute, an annual summer workshop at the […]

Comments Off on Amy Hempel & Matthew Zapruder : Lessons from the Writing Life

Receipts, Email, Bread Tags, Styrofoam : Rachel Perry Welty Transforms Life’s Daily Clutter into Art

By |07.12.12|

 

 

 

(Note: All photographs can be viewed in a larger size by clicking on the image)

Every artist must work within certain limitations, and these limitations come in a variety of forms. It could be financial restraints, a lack of free time, […]

Learning to Look : Whistler, Fireworks, and a New Way of Seeing

By |07.04.12|

 

I’ll never forget the first time I saw James McNeill Whistler’s Nocturne in Black and Gold. I was still in high school when I stumbled across the painting in an art history book and was immediately stunned. I […]

The Art of Focus : 5 Ways to Free Yourself from Digital Dependency

By |06.17.12|

 

 

Distraction is the only thing that consoles us for miseries and yet it is itself the greatest of our miseries.         — Blaise Pascal

 

Our day begins with good intentions. Feeling rested and focused, we set our priorities. […]

A Sunday Poem Exclusive : The Debut of Mary Ruefle’s Erasure “Melody”

By |05.20.12|

 

 

When Mary Ruefle’s book Melody: The Story of a Child arrived in the mail several weeks ago, I could smell the musty, antique pages and the faint whiff of stale cigarette smoke before I even opened the package. The beige […]

The Art of Taking Risks : 13 Years, 3500 Artists, 7 Memorable Lessons

By |05.06.12|

 

When I was a girl, I was fearless. I was always falling out of trees, off of speeding bicycles, into muddy creeks. Once, I was bitten by an angry goose. I was knocked on the head accidentally with a baseball. […]

Writer Lewis Hyde : All Creative and Inventive Minds Are Not Simply Solitary

By |04.24.12|

 

 

Lewis Hyde is a rare breed of writer—a contemporary poet, philosopher, and essayist in the tradition of Thoreau, Emerson, and Czeslaw Milosz.

Hyde’s first book, The Gift, which attempts to reconcile the value of creative work with the demands of the […]